Skip to content

Everytown For Gun Safety Endorses 46 Moms Demand Action Volunteers Running For Office 


Today, Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund endorsed 46 Moms Demand Action volunteers running for office across the country. The volunteers endorsed today represent the growing power of Moms Demand Action and Students Demand Action volunteers as candidates for office themselves as part of Everytown’s Demand A Seat program. Today’s endorsements are the second set of volunteer endorsements this year. 

“Voters are looking for leaders who will take action to keep them safe, which is why Everytown volunteers make such strong candidates,” said John Feinblatt, President of Everytown for Gun Safety. “We’re proud to endorse these Moms Demand Action volunteers, who are already walking the walk on gun safety.”

“We need people in office who will prioritize our safety, our rights, and our ability to live our lives free from gun violence,” said Angela Ferrell-Zabala, Executive Director of Moms Demand Action. “I am thrilled to support these candidates as they join our growing vanguard of volunteers who have taken their advocacy to the next level by running for office, as well as our grassroots army who are rolling up their sleeves to get these folks elected.” 

The full list of candidates endorsed today and the office they are running for is available below:

  • Indiana
    • Kristie Krone, City of Lawrence Common Council, District 6
    • Alison Brown, Indianapolis City Council, District 10
  • Kansas:
    • Bonnie Limbird, Prairie Village City Council, Ward 3
    • Claire Reagan, Olathe Unified School District 233, Member 4
    • Julie Sayers, Mayor of Lenexa
  • Michigan:
    • Lori Stone, Mayor of Warren
  • Minnesota:
    • Sarah Mikesell, Duluth School Board, District 2
    • Isaac Russell, Saint Paul City Council, Ward 3
  • New Jersey
    • Christine Clarke, New Jersey State Senate, District 025
    • Marla Decker, Hoboken City Council, Ward 2
    • Caren Fitzpatrick, New Jersey State Assembly, District 002
    • Verlina Reynolds-Jackson, New Jersey State Assembly, District 015
    • Irene Sergonis, Mount Olive Town Council
    • Baramdai Sharma, New Jersey State Assembly, District 024
  • New York
    • Beth Davidson, Rockland County Legislature, District 10
    • Vedat Gashi, Westchester County Legislature, District 4
    • Jennifer Klein, New Castle Town Board Member
    • Chrissy Knapp, Orangetown Town Board
    • Eve Krief, Suffolk County Legislature, District 18
    • Erika Pierce, Westchester County Legislature, District 2
  • Ohio
    • Anna Albi, Cincinnati City Council
    • Sheena Barnes, Toledo Public Schools Board of Education, At-large
    • Laura Mullen, Brunswick City School Board
    • Monica Wilson, Parma City Council, Ward 1
  • Pennsylvania
    • Jennifer Beuse, Pine-Richland School District, Region 3
  • Tennessee:
    • Brenda Gadd, Nashville Metro Council, District 24
    • Travis London, Nashville Metro Council, District 28
    • Zulfat Suara, Nashville Metro Council, At-large
  • Virginia
    • Jessica Schneider, Clover Hill District Board of Supervisors
    • Kenny Boddye, Occoquan District Supervisor
    • Adele Jackson, Prince William County School Board, Brentsville District
    • Karen Keys-Gamarra, Virginia State House, District 07
    • Victoria Luevanos, Virginia State Senate, District 20
    • Kannan Srinivasan, Virginia State House, District 26
    • Atoosa Reaser, Virginia State House, District 27
    • Jennifer Woofter, Virginia State House, District 52
    • Amy Laufer, Virginia State House, District 55
    • Susanna Gibson, Virginia State House, District 57
    • Joshua Cole, Virginia State House, District 65
    • Shelly Simonds, Virginia State House, District 70
    • Jarris Taylor, Virginia State House, District 86
    • Jeremy Rodden, Virginia State House, District 90
  • Washington:
    • Kim Monroe Bass, Mayor of Renton
    • Pam Stuart, Sammamish City Council, Position 6
    • Cathy Moore, Seattle City Council, District 5
    • Ashley Brooks, Yelm City Council, District 6

Everytown for Gun Safety Victory Fund launched “Demand a Seat,” a program to train grassroots volunteers and gun violence survivors to take the next step in their advocacy efforts by running for office and working on campaigns to elect gun sense candidates in 2021. Since 2017, hundreds of Moms Demand Action volunteer leaders have run for elected office and dozens have won seats – from town council and school board to U.S. Congress. More than 275 volunteers and gun violence survivors ran in the 2021-22 election cycle and 158 won their races. More information on Demand a Seat can be found here.