Skip to content

Students Demand Action Announces 2022-2023 National Advisory Board


National Advisory Board Helps Lead More than 550 Groups Across the Country

Announcement Follows Year of Progress on Gun Safety at Local, State, and Federal Levels

NEW YORK — Today, Students Demand Action, a grassroots network of Everytown for Gun Safety, announced its 2022-2023 National Advisory Board, made up of 16 dedicated student leaders and gun violence survivors from across the country. Students Demand Action is the largest grassroots, youth-led gun violence prevention group in the country with more than 550 groups and active volunteers in every state and the District of Columbia. The movement, created by and for teens and young adults, aims to channel the energy and passion of high school and college-aged students into the fight against gun violence. Students Demand Action volunteers organize within their schools and communities to educate their peers, register voters, and demand common-sense solutions to this national public health crisis at the local, state, and federal level. 

“Our movement is stronger than ever before, and we’re just warming up,” said Angela Carrero Ibaseta, a new member of the Students Demand Action National Advisory Board from Florida. “2022 showed us that when young people use their power, we are unstoppable. We won’t stop fighting at every level to make this country a safer place for our peers, our communities, and for future generations.”

The 2022-2023 National Advisory Board members are:

  • Mia Tretta, a high school senior in Santa Clarita, California and a wounded survivor of the 2019 shooting at Saugus High School
  • Ashley Castillo, a senior at Hollywood High School in California and a former participant in the 2021 South Central Los Angeles Summer Leadership Academy
  • Erin DeSantis, a high school sophomore from Central Pennsylvania and a group lead  with the Central Susquehanna Valley Students Demand Action group
  • Justin Funez, a third year student at the University of Chicago and former participant of the Summer Leadership Academy
  • Jayden Speed, a high school senior at Conestoga in Cass County, Nebraska who founded and leads the state’s only Students Demand Action chapter
  • Angela Carrero Ibaseta, a Florida State Leader with Students Demand Action and leader of the Jacksonville Community Chapter 
  • Lily Cohen, a third-year student at Northwestern University who co-founded and co-leads the school’s Students Demand Action chapter
  • Insherah Qazi, a first year at Agnes Scott College in Georgia and a member of the Atlanta Community Chapter of Students Demand Action
  • Katie Ellison, a junior at Central Michigan University and a founding member of the school’s Students Demand Action chapter
  • Chloe Gayer, a first year student at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa and a gun violence survivor. This will be Chloe’s second year on the National Advisory Board.
  • Avery Hamill, a first year student at the University of Vermont. This will be Avery’s second year on the National Advisory Board.
  • Jayla Hemphill, a second year student at Carnegie Mellon University. This will be Jayla’s second year on the National Advisory Board.
  • Celeste Iroha, a Student at Trinity Washington University in Washington, D.C. and a survivor of both gun violence and domestic violence. This will be Celeste’s second year on the National Advisory Board.
  • Roan Thibault, a first-year student at the University of California, Davis. This will be Roan’s second year on the National Advisory Board.
  • Cordelia Van der Veer, a high school senior at Toledo Technology Academy and group lead of Students Demand Action Toledo. This will be Cordelia’s second year on the National Advisory Board. 
  • Flynn Williams, a first year student at Western Washington University. This will be Flynn’s second year on the National Advisory Board. 
  • Cora Lynn Mundy, a high school junior in Staten Island, New York and Vice President of the Students Demand Action group at Staten Island Academy

Students Demand Action National Advisory Board members grow and strengthen their leadership skills through training, mentorship and public speaking opportunities. National Advisory Board members lend their voices and passion to the gun violence prevention movement, shaping the strategy and direction of Students Demand Action. Members of the National Advisory Board train and mentor leaders of local Students Demand Action groups across the country, drawing on their own leadership experiences. 

Young Americans have been forced to grow up living in fear of gunfire in schools, grocery stores, malls, and so many other places across their communities that should be safe. Every day, 110 Americans are shot and killed and more than 200 are shot and wounded, and guns are the number one killer of children and teens in this country. Even those who are not physically impacted by gun violence are still shaped by it. That’s why Students Demand Action volunteers across the country are rising up and organizing in their schools, universities and communities to demand more from their leaders.

More information about Students Demand Action here. To speak with a Students Demand Action National Advisory Board Member, please do not hesitate to reach out.