Skip to content

Mayors Against Illegal Guns Co-Chairs Issue Statement on Mass Shootings in Lewiston Maine


Today, the nine current co-chairs of Mayors Against Illegal Guns, a nonpartisan coalition of more than 2,000 current and former mayors that is a part of Everytown for Gun Safety, released the following joint statement in response to the multiple mass shootings reported in Lewiston, Maine last night. 

“Yet again, another community is grappling with the unthinkable in the wake of a senseless and preventable tragedy. A night out at the bowling alley or dinner with friends shouldn’t end with gunfire, but in America, sadly, this is our reality. We refuse to sit by while our communities are decimated by gun violence. We know how to address this crisis, and we know that gun safety laws work. As Mayors, we are on the frontline of America’s gun violence epidemic. We understand all too well that turning the tide on this crisis will require a whole-of-government approach, starting with Congress taking decisive action to get weapons of war off our streets and our state lawmakers passing laws that will save lives. Our hearts are with the Lewiston community, but Lewiston needs more than thoughts and prayers. We will continue to demand action to prevent tragedies like this from happening again, and we will do everything in our power to keep our cities safe.”

The current co-chairs of Mayors Against Illegal Guns are Baltimore, Maryland Mayor Brandon Scott; Chattanooga, Tennessee Mayor Tim Kelly; Kansas City, Missouri Mayor Quinton Lucas; Mount Vernon, New York Mayor Shawyn Patterson-Howard; New York, New York Mayor Eric Adams; Former Stockton, California Mayor Michael Tubbs; St. Louis, Missouri Mayor Tishaura Jones; Tampa, Florida Mayor Jane Castor; and Tucson, Arizona Mayor Regina Romero.